Looking back at the U2 concert: With pics!

OK. Time to play serious blog catch-up as I relive U2 in concert via the live webcast on YouTube…

First things first

My husband and I went down to Arlington to see U2 at the new Dallas Cowboys stadium last week with my mom and sister. In short, it was amazing.

We went because my mom is a longtime U2 fan, and I don’t think she would have wanted to go by herself. Our seats were nosebleed, and once we found them, the song “Vertigo” came to mind.

The crazy-looking stage was sweet. Moving bridges, the honeycomb videoboard, lighting up…

Muse

The opening act in Arlington was Muse, who incredibly I’d never heard of. They were a fitting opener, kind of like a Radiohead/Queen hybrid. Let’s just say my iPod is stocked with some good Muse now.

Fandom

I have said before that I’m not a big fan, but it’s not because I don’t like U2. “Beautiful Day” is a sentimental favorite though. (It’s what we walked back down the aisle to at our wedding.)

It’s just that I had never felt the need to dig deeper beyond the tried-and-true radio hits before. But the more I listen to and watch this live webcast, the more I appreciate the band. iTunes is open and on the U2 page, ready for me to comb when I finish this blog.

Man, the big expandable video board is amazing. Search YouTube for “The Unforgettable Fire,” not just for the song but for that impressive structure.

What’s he saying down there?

Also, the more I listen, the more I realize I should not have been as forgiving for Cowboys Stadium’s awful acoustics. I think that might have played a big part in feeling more “into” the performance, if I’d been able to better understand the songs I didn’t recognize right away.

The acoustics were so bad up on the fourth level it was a little hard to decipher what Bono was saying about a Burmese political prisoner and African poverty and hunger. Watching the webcast, I’m getting a lot better feel for what’s going on.

It’s kind of like the difference between going to a game and watching it on TV at home, I suppose. It’s great being there in person, but you can’t beat TV angles and closeups. And crystal clear sound. Even makes me feel a tad guilty for not comprehending the band’s messages the first time.

Pictures

It also helps when you’re not distracted taking pictures. I took over 300, I think. Don’t worry, I only used the flash on a couple of them, I’m not a total jerk. 🙂

Here’s some of the best ones. As always, click to zoom. You won’t be disappointed.

IMG_1148

Closeup of stage early in show

IMG_1198

Awesome videoboard, in its expanded state

IMG_1243

"Sunday Bloody Sunday"

IMG_1188

Interacting with fans

IMG_1291

Bono is on the speakers.

IMG_1331

Cell phones ablaze during "Moment of Surrender". Definitely worth a click and zoom.

IMG_1235

A nice group shot, sans Larry

IMG_1186

This one cracks me up!

IMG_1171

Pretty colors!

IMG_1339

Saving one of the best pics for last.

Overall, we all had an awesome time. Definitely the best concert I’ve ever been to (Sorry, “new” Journey).

I always like discovering songs and bands, and it made for a great memory. U2 could have played for three more hours and no one would have left their seat, I’m sure of it.

They are playing “Where the Streets Have No Name” … It’s simply epic.

P.S. U2’s YouTube channel has over 39 million hits. When I started writing this blog, they were at 17 million. That’s 20 million-plus in a few hours. Wow.

2 responses to “Looking back at the U2 concert: With pics!

  1. Excellent pics. Your camera has a nice zoom feature. It was as if I was there. Love the one of Bono and The Edge performing on the bridges. Bono gets criticized for being a showoff but I prefer to call him a showman.

  2. Hey long & distant cousin. Just wanted to tell you that I love your blog! hope all is well.

Leave a comment