Soccer moms talk trash, too

I wish I’d had the energy to write this blog yesterday, but I was worn out from a jam-packed Thanksgiving weekend and Black Fridaying.

I had a wonderful Thanksgiving with Jonathan’s family this year and got to know some people better. I watched more garage ping pong than football, and I don’t think that’s a bad thing.

Anyway, I experienced my first taste of Black Friday madness yesterday. I was up anyway, and though I was tired enough to sleep, the temptation of getting some good deals on Christmas presents was enough to keep me awake.

I prepared pretty well, I think. I tried to bring a buddy, but Jonathan chickened out and went to bed. Probably for the best, considering I was shopping for him too.

I dressed for comfort in fleece pants, tennis shoes, a T-shirt and an orange OSU hoodie. I ate before I left, and I considered bringing bottled water but decided it was unnecessary (wrong decision).

The best decision I made was to bring my own shopping bag  (a strong, large mesh-type green number with pink Hawaiian flowers I used to use as a beach bag) in case they ran out.

My first stop was Kohl’s, which opened at 4 a.m. I arrived at 4:05, just as the floodgates had opened. I parked far away and at the wrong door, but I didn’t care.

I strategically made a beeline for menswear and electronics, knowing those things would go quickly. I nabbed the last curling iron* with glee and stuffed it into my bag.  Next, I perused the socks*, repeatedly having to remind myself that this wasn’t an ordinary day at the store and that I needed to hurry.

Next up was supposed to be women’s accessories, but that area was a madhouse so I bypassed it altogether. I moved on to the automotive* department but came up empty.

I made a very slight detour to the bedding department for some luxury sheets that were seriously marked down. I had told myself “presents before personal,” but… I was right there. I had to take a moment to rearrange my already overflowing shopping bag and unsurprisingly found a quiet spot near the throw pillows, which I would imagine are not Christmas doorbuster items.

I grabbed the last coaster* and one of the last chainsaws* and made a U-turn to my final stop in the produce* department, the scene of my showdown.

I was standing at a display of a variety of toothbrushes*, trying to figure out if the one I wanted was there.

Then I heard a woman ask, “So, you think you’re going to win, don’t you?”

What?

I eyed the benign-looking woman curiously as I wondered if by “win” she meant we were going to have to do battle for the last toothbrush*.

She smiled and explained, “I’m wearing red under here (her coat).” I laughed and said I really didn’t know who would win, trying to sound as unconfident as I could to build some rapport in case we were actually going to have to throw down.

Oh yeah. I had forgotten – temporarily, of course – about Bedlam.

Turns out she apparently wasn’t looking for the same thing as me, or like me, she didn’t see the present she was looking for. Who knows.

I milled around for a little while longer, seeing if anything struck me as a good present. Finally, I gave up and joined the back of the line, which was all the way back to the towel department. I kid you not: It wrapped around menswear, shoes, electronics, kitchen and bath.

I’m not sure how long I stood in line. I estimate it was about 45 minutes. I realized I was getting the stink-eye from more than one crimson-clad woman. Isn’t 4:45 a.m. a little too early to be talking trash (verbally or with dirty looks)?

It wasn’t long before I became so overheated I shed my orange, wrapping my sweater around my waist. The long line snaked through displays in the middle of the aisle, so it was hard to see people from above the waist, which could have helped my cause.

It’s just funny though how I put zero thought into wearing orange the day before Bedlam. I guess Black Friday had gotten everyone’s competitive juices flowing a little early, and with adrenaline pumping through your veins, I guess it’s hard to resist a little smack talk.

*The names of the presents and departments have been changed to protect the recipients of said presents. 🙂

Prediction

As for a prediction, I’ll go with OSU 38, OU 31.

I think too much has been made of “The Streak.” OU may have the nation’s longest home winning streak at 29, and it may be perfect at home this year, but I think that’s been overblown.

As for the five teams OU has beaten in Norman this year? They have a combined record of 21-36. That’s a .368 record. Of course the Sooners won.

Also, according to the Tulsa World’s live chat, OU has lost another offensive lineman. That could be the straw that broke the camel’s back. And if Landry Jones goes down, OU’s only option is to use a walk-on QB (or burn a redshirt).

The crowd is not to be underestimated. I expect it to be 1,000 times more vicious than usual, as OU has nothing to lose and OSU has nothing to gain. I’m glad I’m going to be enjoying the game from the safety of my couch.

Leave a comment